The Characteristics of Gamers

People gravitate toward games they are good at, I think. There are other factors to consider, such as what their general circle of friends play, but often there isn’t much dissent among friends. Anyways, there is an ever persistent rift among fans of first person shooters: that of the Call of Duty and Halo franchises. To be sure, there is overlap between the two, but frankly no one gives a shit about similarities.

Lest I mislead any readers, I should point out that COD is significantly more popular than the Halo franchise. I used popular as a reference of how many people play it, and not how much people enjoy it. On some level this is to be expected, as the Halo series is largely praised for its plot, whereas COD is a multi-player powerhouse. But both of them have a campaign mode and multi-player compatability.

Although Halo’s plot is masterful, I won’t be discussing it. Instead I am curious about the gaming dynamics of the multi-player experience in both games.

My first experience playing Halo was at my cousin’s house when I was in about the fourth grade. At the time he had but an original Xbox, along with the first and second games of the franchise, released in 2000 and 2003-4 respectively. I was appropriately hooked, as it was quite a pleasure absolutely dominating my younger brother at the game and stalemating my cousin. Time went on and I surpassed my cousin in skill, and the perpetual stalemate lay between my cousin and brother. When the relatively recent time came to play Call of Duty, I fatally assumed that my Halo competence would extend to broadly defined first-person shooters. It didn’t, not at all. The game dynamics were so vastly different despite the shared characteristic of blazing gunfire. The fundamental difference between the two is that COD relies far more heavily on processing speed, reaction time, and accuracy, whereas Halo games select for anticipation of where your opponent is going to be next. The latter operates at a slower pace, so it is less of a burden to make sure you hit your opponent right away. However, this grace period extends to your opponent as well, so it really isn’t any easier. But it was far more easy for me to pick up on the second one, and much more fun as well. Even the best players at COD know that you scarcely have time to move around the map; in Halo, you have plenty of it.

I’m curious to what extent selection has played a role in both games. Obviously, they’re both diluted significantly because people don’t gravitate solely towards the games they’re good at. But it would be interesting to see.

Leave a comment